DSRP: Distributed SensorWeb Routing Protocol

Abhinav Valada, David Kohanbash and George A. Kantor
Conference Paper, 21st International Conference on Electronics, Communications and Computers (CONIELECOMP 2011), February, 2011

View Publication

Copyright notice: This material is presented to ensure timely dissemination of scholarly and technical work. Copyright and all rights therein are retained by authors or by other copyright holders. All persons copying this information are expected to adhere to the terms and constraints invoked by each author's copyright. These works may not be reposted without the explicit permission of the copyright holder.


We propose a new multi-hop routing protocol for wireless sensor networks, suited for monitoring and control applications. The aim of this research is to adapt flat and hierarchical architectures to create a new hybrid that draws on current protocol theories. The protocol uses a hybrid network structure to achieve scalability and is source initiated along with time driven reporting to reduce the number of packet transmissions. The protocol incorporates a link quality estimation algorithm, which enables only the nodes with high quality symmetric links to be chosen for routing. Route selection is calculated using both hop count and link quality as routing metrics. The protocol is also designed such that it is computationally simple, reliable, energy aware, does not impose any special hardware prerequisites and most importantly credible. Its credibility was verified by performing a series of field tests in a real world operating environment.

author = {Abhinav Valada and David Kohanbash and George A. Kantor},
title = {DSRP: Distributed SensorWeb Routing Protocol},
booktitle = {21st International Conference on Electronics, Communications and Computers (CONIELECOMP 2011)},
year = {2011},
month = {February},
editor = {IEEE Computer Society},
publisher = {IEEE},
keywords = {Multi-Hop Routing, Link Quality Estimation, Sensor Network, Routing Protocol},
} 2017-09-13T10:40:26-04:00